These wildlife photography winners showcase the beauty and cruelty of nature

The wildlife photos have been coming thick and fast lately.

First we had the highly commended entires in the Wildlife Photography of the Year Awards, then we had the Comedy Wildlife Photography of the Year Awards, and this week we had the microscopic entries for the Nikon Small World Photomicography Competition.

Now, we have even more photos from the Wildlife Photography of the Year Awards — and this time it’s the winners.

On Tuesday night, the competition – which is run by London’s Natural History Museum – announced the winning entries across 17 categories, including the overall winner of the entire contest.

Before we dive into the photos, a quick warning: Although many of the entries below showcase nature’s beauty, they also show its more brutal side — and there are two photojournalism winners, right at the bottom, that show animals in captivity.

'The embrace' by Sergey Gorshkov, Russia. Winner of 'Animals in their environment' and overall competition winner.

‘The embrace’ by Sergey Gorshkov, Russia. Winner

Read More

Wildlife Photographer of the Year winners capture beauty, struggles of animal life

A dreamy looking Amur tigress rubbing her cheek against an ancient Manchurian fir in the Russian Far East captured top honors in the Wildlife Photographer of the Year contest, held annually by London’s Natural History Museum. It took Russian photographer Sergey Gorshkov more than 11 months to capture the moment, using hidden cameras. The tigress is marking her territory by leaving behind secretions from her scent glands.

a zebra standing on top of a tree: Sergey Gorshkov's winning image shows an Amur tigress hugging an ancient Manchurian fir in the Russian Far East. Sergey Gorshov/Wildlife Photographer of the Year

© Provided by CNET
Sergey Gorshkov’s winning image shows an Amur tigress hugging an ancient Manchurian fir in the Russian Far East. Sergey Gorshov/Wildlife Photographer of the Year

a cat with its mouth open

© Matthew Maran/Wildlife Photographer of the Year

“It’s a scene like no other, a unique glimpse of an intimate moment deep in a magical forest,” said Roz Kidman Cox, chair of the judging panel. 

The Duchess of Cambridge announced the winner in a ceremony live-streamed on Tuesday.

Liina Heikkinen of Finland won Young Wildlife Photographer

Read More

Nobel Prize Winners In Chemistry And Physics Discuss Shattering Gender Norm, Redefining Women’s Roles

The first Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded 119 years ago, and on Wednesday for the first time in its history, two women won without having to share the prize with a man. Their groundbreaking development may shift the perception of women in scientific roles, and continue to disrupt the centuries-old mindset that women are second to men in innovation or in any field. 

Dr. Jennifer Doudna, a biochemist at UC Berkeley and French researcher Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier of the Max Planch Institute accepted the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing the CRISPR-Cas9 genetic scissors, a

Read More

NY Canal System photo contest shows beauty, splendor of a great resource (see winners)

WATERFORD, NY – The winners of the 15th Annual Erie Canalway Photo Contest have been chosen from more than 435 entries.

The winning images, which represent the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor, will be featured in the 2021 Erie Canalway calendar, which will be available for free at libraries, visitor centers and by request beginning in December.

“These remarkable images remind us that the NYS Canal System remains a symbol of strength for our communities, providing a distinct sense of place and pride in where we live, work and play. We are delighted to share them widely,” said Bob Radliff, executive director of the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor, which sponsored the contest.

Brian U. Stratton, director of the New York State Canal Corporation, added, “As New Yorkers, we are lucky—it’s easy to take for granted the natural beauty around every corner.

“The Erie Canalway’s annual photo contest gives us

Read More

Beauty Independent Announces Beacon Award Winners

NEW YORK, Oct. 1, 2020 /PRNewswire/ — Indie Beauty Media Group (IBMG), publisher of Beauty Independent (BI) announced the winners of its inaugural Beacon Awards during a live virtual celebration on Sept. 30th. This program, the first of its kind, is exclusively focused on recognizing innovation and excellence in independent beauty and beauty entrepreneurship.

The editorial team at Beauty Independent selected 75 nominees across 15 award categories. Winners were then determined by a panel of 15 expert evaluators assigned to four evaluation committees based on their background and expertise.  The evaluation process also took into account testimonials, provided by Beauty Independent subscribers, whose voices represent the diverse and thoughtful community the publication serves.

“Although the indie beauty segment has made inroads in the beauty industry, it’s still dominated by legacy players,” says Beauty Independent Editor In Chief Rachel Brown. “However, consumers are increasingly voting with their dollars

Read More

UEFA Awards: Full list of winners and nominees, including Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year

Getty Images

Aside from Friday being the UEFA Champions League draw, Europe’s governing body for soccer is also announcing the winners of its most prestigious awards, including Men’s Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year and more. Nominees include massive names in the world of soccer like Robert Lewandowski, Wendi Renard, Jurgen Klopp and others.

Be sure to check back for a complete list of the award winners. 

The first award went to Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer as the top goalkeeper.  Winners will be in italics.

UEFA awards: Nominees

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year:

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) 
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern) 

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year: 

  • Lucy Bronze (Lyon, now at Manchester City)
  • Pernilla Harder (Wolfsburg) 
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon)

UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year: 

  • Hansi Flick (Bayern) 
  • Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
  • Julian Nagelsmann (RB Leipzig)

UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year:

Read More

Winners Of Siena Drone Photo Awards 2020

The winners of the prestigious Siena International Photo Awards dedicated to aerial photography, the Drone Awards 2020, have been announced and the 45 selected images taken from above are inspiring.

The Drone Awards, one of the most important worldwide competitions about aerial photography and video, is a project by the Italian Siena Awards dedicated “to a different photographic genre deliberately separated from being compared to traditional photography.”

MORE FROM FORBES22 Spectacular Images, Winners Of Creative Photo Of The Year 2020 By Siena Awards

The contest offers 10 categories for photographers to submit their best aerial shots: Wedding, Video, Urban, Nature, People, Animals, Abstract, Sports, Series and Empty cities: Life under Covid-19.

Here are the winners of the Wedding category,

Read More